Meet PawBite. Three focused chews. Online ordering coming soon.
Skip to content

PetLab Co. vs PawBite.

By PawBite editorial teamVeterinary review pending — every claim cites its study belowPublished February 14, 2026Updated October 28, 2026
Quick answer

PetLab Co. is the most recognizable direct-to-consumer dog supplement brand in the US and their Probiotic Chews are a legitimate top-seller on Amazon. If you already trust the brand and your dog likes the formula, there's no urgent reason to switch. PawBite Probiotic Chews list 2.5 billion CFU per 2.5 g chew across five named microorganisms, plus 100 mg of inulin and 125 mg of pumpkin powder. PetLab's listed CFU count is 5 billion per chew. These different formulas should not be treated as equivalent.

When PetLab Co. makes sense.

PetLab has earned its scale. If your dog has been on PetLab Probiotic Chews for months and stool is firm, gas is gone, and you're happy with the price after the Amazon Subscribe & Save discount, there's no urgent reason to switch. PetLab also wins on convenience — if you order most of your household goods on Amazon and want one-click reordering inside Prime, that ecosystem matters. Their 30-day guarantee is shorter than ours but adequate if your dog tends to respond quickly to probiotics.

When PawBite makes sense.

PawBite Probiotic Chews may suit owners who prefer a chicken-flavored soft chew with the amount of each listed microorganism disclosed. The label lists five species at 500 million CFU each, plus 100 mg of inulin and 125 mg of pumpkin powder per chew. It does not identify clinical strain designations. PawBite also offers direct purchasing and a 90-day guarantee.

What PetLab does well

PetLab Co. is the most successful DTC dog supplement brand in the US for a reason. The Probiotic Chews have over 100,000 Amazon reviews and a genuinely positive average rating. The formula works for most dogs — pork-flavored chews most dogs eat without complaint, prebiotic fiber blended in, and a CFU count that's actually in the clinically useful range (a lot of competitors come in at 1 billion or below, which is not enough to move the needle).

PetLab also invests in customer service in a way most supplement brands don't — their support team is responsive, refunds tend to be processed without friction, and the brand has built real trust over the years. If you're new to dog probiotics and want a low-risk way to try one, PetLab is a reasonable place to start.

Where we'd push back: PetLab uses a proprietary blend, which is the supplement industry's way of saying we won't tell you exactly which strains are in here and at what ratio. That's a business decision (it protects the formula from copycats), but it also means a vet who wants to evaluate the supplement for a specific gut condition is working blind.

Where PawBite is different

PawBite Probiotic Chews list Bacillus coagulans, Bifidobacterium animalis, Lactobacillus acidophilus, Lactobacillus plantarum, and Lactobacillus rhamnosus at a minimum of 500 million CFU each per 2.5 g chew, for a total of 2.5 billion CFU. The label names these microorganisms at species level; it does not supply clinical strain IDs.

Each chew also contains 100 mg of inulin and 125 mg of pumpkin powder. The chicken-flavored formula contains chicken and chickpea. Each tube contains approximately 80 soft chews, with a net weight of 200 g (7.05 oz). The label states Made in China and Made in a GMP-certified facility.

The product's label description is: For dogs' gut wellness. Ingredient names and amounts do not establish that a finished product has the same effects as another formulation.

On price and subscription

PetLab and PawBite are in the same price band per month. PetLab lists at around $35–40 for a one-time order and runs aggressive promotional discounts on Amazon Subscribe & Save (claims of up to 40% off, though the actual landed price varies by promo cycle). PawBite is $32 retail, $26 on Subscribe & Save — a flat 20% off plus free shipping, no promo gymnastics required.

The Subscribe & Save discount also stacks if you add Joint + Mobility Chews via The Daily Duo bundle, dropping the combined per-month cost to $47.60 versus $70 retail — 32% off. PetLab sells joint chews too, but the bundle math depends on which retailer you buy from and which promo is live that week.

Neither brand locks you in. You can skip, pause, or cancel a PawBite subscription from your account portal in one click — no calls, no fees. PetLab's cancellation flow is reasonable but goes through customer service rather than self-serve.

On testing and certification

PawBite's current label lists a minimum of 2.5 billion CFU per chew. It does not specify whether that count is measured at manufacture or guaranteed through expiration. A through-expiration guarantee should not be assumed from the count alone.

PetLab tests every batch, but the testing data is not published publicly — you'd need to contact support to get a COA. That's not unusual for the supplement industry but it's a meaningful gap if you're the kind of owner who wants to verify what's on the label.

Side-by-side comparison

FeaturePawBitePetLab Co.
CFU per chew2.5 billion5 billion (claimed)
Number of strains5 (named at species level)8 (proprietary blend)
Strains identified by study IDNo; species names are listedNo
PrebioticInulin, 100 mg per chewIncluded, amount not disclosed
Pumpkin / digestive aid125 mg pumpkin powder per chewNo
FormSoft chewSoft chew
FlavorChickenPork
Price per month (subscription)$26~$28–32
Subscribe & Save20% off + free shippingTiered up to 40% off (promo-driven)
Money-back guarantee90 days30 days
Third-party tested per batchNot confirmed by current labelYes
cGMP-certified manufacturingMade in China; GMP-certified facility stated on labelYes
DistributionDirect from pawbite.comAmazon + DTC + retailers

Frequently asked.

Last updated October 28, 2026. Every claim on this page cites a peer-reviewed study by author and year. Veterinary advisory review is being finalized — until then, treat this as carefully sourced editorial, and never as a substitute for veterinary advice for your specific dog.