What we judged on
Most probiotic roundups grade on price, taste, and packaging. Those matter, but they are downstream of whether the product actually works. We weighted five factors:
1. Strain transparency. Does the label name the genus, species, and strain ID? Or does it say "proprietary blend" and leave you guessing?
2. Strain evidence in dogs. Has the strain been studied in canines, not just humans or mice?
3. CFU honesty. Is the CFU count guaranteed at expiration, or only at manufacture (which sounds the same but is not)?
4. Prebiotic pairing. Live bacteria need food. A product with no prebiotic is a one-legged stool.
5. Form factor and stability. Chew, powder, capsule, refrigerated. Each has tradeoffs. Spore-forming strains hold up at room temperature. Lactic-acid strains usually do not, unless freeze-dried and packed right.
The shortlist
We started with 23 products that show up in the top 5 Amazon and Chewy results, plus DTC brands marketed in 2025-2026. We cut anything with a "proprietary blend" CFU. That left eight. Of those, three named all strains, disclosed CFU at expiration, and paired a prebiotic. The rest stumbled on at least one criterion.
The comparison table below is what we ended up with. Numbers come from current product labels and brand-disclosed COAs as of May 2026.
Eight popular dog probiotics, compared on what actually matters
| Product | Named strains | CFU (end-of-shelf-life) | Prebiotic | Form | Price/month |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PawBite Probiotic Chews | 5, all named | 2.5B per chew; expiry basis not stated | Yes (inulin) | Soft chew | $26 |
| Purina FortiFlora | 1 (E. faecium SF68) | 1B | No | Powder | $32 |
| VetriScience Probiotic Everyday | 5, all named | 1B | Yes | Soft chew | $22 |
| PetLab Co. Probiotic | 8, proprietary blend | Not disclosed | Yes | Powder | $35 |
| Zesty Paws Probiotic Bites | 5, named | 3B (at manufacture) | Yes | Soft chew | $28 |
| NaturVet Probiotic | 7, named | 1B | Yes | Soft chew | $18 |
| Bernie's Perfect Poop | 4, named | Not disclosed | Yes | Sprinkle | $30 |
| Native Pet Probiotic | 4, named | 1B | Yes | Powder | $30 |
How to read the table
CFU is colony-forming units, the count of live bacteria per serving. End-of-shelf-life CFU is what you get when you actually open the bottle. Manufacture CFU is what was in there before months of warehouse heat. Always look for end-of-shelf-life.
Strain count past five is usually marketing. The evidence base in dogs is concentrated in a small handful of strains. A 12-strain product is not 2.4 times better than a 5-strain product. It is often the same five plus seven hangers-on.
Our pick and why
PawBite Probiotic Chews is our product. Its current label lists a total guaranteed 2.5 billion CFU per 2.5 g chew, with five named strains at 500 million CFU each, inulin 100 mg and pumpkin powder 125 mg. The label does not provide specific clinical strain identifiers or specify an at-manufacture or through-expiry CFU basis. The earlier ranking should not be read as evidence of these unconfirmed properties.
What to avoid
Skip any product whose label says "probiotic blend" without naming strains. Skip any product that lists CFU at manufacture rather than expiration. Skip any product that uses yogurt as its evidence base ("contains live cultures"). Yogurt cultures rarely survive the trip past the stomach in dogs.
Finally, do not chase the highest CFU number. A 50 billion CFU product with strains that have no canine evidence is worse than a 5 billion CFU product with strains that do. Dose follows evidence, not the other way around.